Monday, June 14, 2021
HomeSportsIPL 2021 UpdatesIPL 2021: 8 Players Who Can Win Purple Cap This Year. -...

IPL 2021: 8 Players Who Can Win Purple Cap This Year. – SahiHaiBro

Here’s our take on who may win the Purple Cap in IPL 2021. A good batting lineup or good batsman is important for any team to win a match, but if there is no good bowler in the team, how much every team score runs can be chased easily. This is the reason bowlers play a very important role in any team. Promising batsman and brilliant bowler playing each other are like watching a chess game on the cricket pitch. This game goes to height in IPL.

What is a Purple cap in IPL and Why is it awarded?

A batsman who plays consistently throughout the tournament is awarded an orange cap in IPL while a bowler who takes maximum wickets throughout the tournament is Awarded, Purple Cap.

The trouble batsman with their swings, spins, off cutters, leg cutters, reverse swings, doosras, and entertaining of all these with their Yorkers. A batsman can play how many ever overs they want out of 20 but bowlers in IPL have to show their skills only within 4 overs to win the cap, in that they not only take wickets but also maintain their economy by not letting batsman score and by putting pressure on another team.

Purple cap winner bowler’s skills are generally checked in IPL during death overs, especially when matches are in tight situations, bowling calmly and not letting batsmen score runs can only be done only by the experienced or skilled bowler. Let’s take a look at a list of legends who have won purple can in these 13 seasons.

Who are the Purple Cap Winners throughout the IPL Tournaments? 

(2008) – Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)

(2009) – R P Singh (Deccan Chargers)

(2010) – Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)

(2011) – Lasitha Malinga (Mumbai Indians)

(2012) – Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils)

(2013) – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

(2014) – Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings)

(2015) – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

(2016) – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

(2017) – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

(2018) – Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab)

(2019) – Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings)

(2020) – Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals)

Throughout these 13 seasons of IPL, these are the players who have shown their skills in Bowling to get the purple cap, thing which should be noticed in this table is pace bowlers have a better chance to win purple cap than the spinners as there are only two spinners who are capped by the purple cap which are Pragyan Ojha and Imran Tahir while all others are pace bowlers. New Players like Arjun Tendulkar are also to watch out for.

you may also like: Nepotism? Why Arjun Tendulkar doesn’t deserve to be in IPL 2021?- READ NOW!

Purple cap in IPL 2020:

Last season was one of the best seasons for bowlers in IPL. Getting batsman in a difficult situation taking wickets and making matches more and more interesting, entertaining was done amazingly by bowlers last year. While Kagiso Rabada (30) won the title of the purple cap, Jaspreet Bumrah (27), Trent Boult (25), Anrich Notrije (23), Y Z Chalal (21) were top five contenders to Rabada last year IPL 2020. We have also written an article on our top picks on who may win Orange Cap in IPL 2021!

TOP 8 Players Who Might Get Purple Cap in IPL 2021:

This year with these bowlers some more newcomers are in form to show their magic with Ball in IPL 2021, Let’s take a look at who are strong contenders of Purple cap:


8. Mohammed Siraj

Son of Auto-Rickshaw driver Mohammed Siraj has made his way up because of his skills, Playing for RCB for the last two years he is prime bowler for the team who has the potentials not only to stop runs but also to take wickets. Out of the 9 matches, he played last year he bowled with an economy of 8.68 while his best the last year 2020 was 3 wickets for 8 runs.

7. T Natrajan

Left-arm pacer with his fabulous domestic career had not much performed well in IPL till his last season, from his 16 matches of last season he took 16 wickets with an economy of 8.02 and made a place of recognition in IPL 2020. This year in SRH the team which is known as bowling beasts Natrajan has got his role to play and win Purple cap for him.

6. Ravindra Jadeja 

Ravindra Jadeja an all-arounder player CSK is especially known for his Magic ball in spin, the way he shows his skills from batting he also shows them from bowling, a team that has only one spin bowler, this team Chennai Super Kings will be dependent on Jadeja’s bowling. Looking at his career whenever he has got chance’s he comes with an extraordinary performance which is why he is a strong contender to win the Purple cap.

5. Trent Boult

Trent Boult bowled for MI last year, by teaming up with Jaspreet Bumrah he showed an
amazing performance for his team, bowled with an economy of 7.97 and he took 25 wickets in the season overall. He was a contender for purple cap IPL 2020 and he is all set to take it for him even this year’s IPL 2021.

4. Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Prime wickets – taker of Sunrisers Hyderabad was not able to play all matches for the team last year due to his injury while this is Bhuvneshwar is ready to show his magic with the ball. With his experience and capability to take wickets, he is another performer in race of
purple cap.

3. R. Ashwin

Spinners don’t show up in the race of winning purple cap but when it comes to the purple
cap, no other spinner this year can show up after Ravindra Jadeja and R. Ashwin. The way he played in the test series with England shows that player is in tremendous form and can win the purple cap this year.

2. Kagiso Rabada 

Kagiso Rabada’s witty Yorkers and swings have troubled batsmen for the last two seasons, right from the time Rabada was an emerging player he has always given promising performances. With which he has purple capped last year, even this year Rabada Stand to be the prime player of this race.

1. Jaspreet Bumrah 

Race of purple cap cannot be finished without the name of Jaspreet Bumrah, his skills of bowling in death overs and his effective and economical bowling has helped Mumbai Indians take title home since last two seasons but Jaspreet Bumrah did not get the purple cap, though in IPL 2021, more than anyone, Bumrah stands at the center of this Race.

Although, these players are in the race of purple cap. There are many more other promising bowlers such as Mohammed Shami, Jofra Archer, Adam Milne, Piyush Chawla who can still jump up in this race. Bowlers are ready to perform and fans are ready to get entertained, so Stay Tuned…

Like our posts? Tweet us more suggestions on what to post and we might feature your idea with your name and picture!

(Featured Image Credits: R. Ashwin on Instagram, Ravindra Jadeja on Instagram, Jaspreet Bumrah on Instagram)

you may also like:

Orange Cap in IPL 2021: Top 8 Players Who Deserve To Win! – SahiHaiBro

Nepotism? Why Arjun Tendulkar doesn’t deserve to be in IPL 2021?- SahiHaiBro



Comments are closed.

Most Popular